The Chudwin Award

For Patrol Rifle Excellence 

CONGRATS to our 2021 Chudwin Award Recipient

Sgt. Joe Slenk of the Holland Michigan Department of Public Safety!

Click here to read the citation



Now accepting nominations for 2022

DEADLINE: June 31st, 2022 / Winner announced by July 15th, 2022


Email us your nominee to or Mail to Center Mass Inc, 33825 Plymouth Rd, Livonia, MI  48150: Include your name and agency, the nominee's name and agency, the reasons why you think they would be a good candidate for this award. 


Each year this award is bestowed upon a deserving law enforcement officer for their actions in battle and / or contributions to the greater cause of preparation, training and education. 


It is named in honor of Chief Jeff Chudwin for his pioneering efforts that long ago changed our professions perception regarding rifles. This new age of thinking and acceptance of rifles in modern day police work is a direct result of his tireless persistence. It is only fitting that this prestigious award be named after the man who has educated and trained so many individuals and organizations on the benefits of a sound patrol rifle program. Chief Chudwin’s professionalism, candor, and counsel have helped countless law enforcement officers through extremely difficult times and his selfless service to the greater good is evident by his every day actions and his motto: "Just do the right thing. Click here for the 2010 ITOA Journal article about this award. 


Past Chudwin Award Winners:

(Click the officer's name to see the actions for which they received this award.)


2010 - Detective Michael Lego,

Plymouth Twp. PD, Michigan

2011 - Officer Paul Milone,

Omaha PD, Nebraska

2012 - Officer David Raddatz,

Fond du Lac PD, Wisconsin


2013 - Officer Savan Lenda,

Oak Creek PD, Wisconsin

2014 - Sgt. Christopher Peeler,

Kane County Sheriff's Office, Illinois

2015 - Officer Adrian Alan,

Madison PD, Wisconsin


2016 - Officer Nick Koahou,
San Bernardino PD, CA
2017 - Officer Jonathan Munyan,
Kansas City PD, MO
2018 - Sgt. Bryan R. Bryant,
Tiffin PD, OH
  2019 - Trooper Cody King  

Michigan State Police




  1. An act of valor using a patrol rifle by an officer assigned to patrol operations.

  2. The act must have occurred within two (2) calendar years (Example: 2013 = 2012 or 2011).

  3. A longstanding contribution in training, education, development, and / or leadership in the realm of law enforcement patrol rifle operations. 




  1. The nominee must be a sworn law enforcement officer in the United States (includes part time, auxiliary, and reserve officers and or licensed security officers).

  2. The nominee must be recommended by a person familiar with the details of why they should be considered. It is recommended but not mandatory that a member of the nominee's chain of command, at the time of the incident or in their current place of duty, endorse the nomination in writing.

  3. The nominee cannot be an employee of, consultant, contractor, or in any way contractually connected to a firearms, ammunition, or a gun accessory manufacturer at the time of nomination for the award.

  4. The nominee cannot be a contracted magazine writer for a law enforcement or firearms publication.

  5. The nominee cannot be currently subject to criminal charges or courts martial.

  6. This award is not given for excellence in competition shooting, article writing, positions held, nor for receipt of other awards.

  7. The nominee is someone who has truly committed a life saving act while serving in the patrol division of their agency or made a lasting contribution while being a patrol rifle armed law enforcement or security officer.




  1. Nominations must be made in writing, on letterhead by fax, mail, or attachment to an email. It must provide an incident report, press clippings, any supporting evidence, and any witnesses that could be interviewed. If this involved an OIS which is still under investigation, then only the pertinent details should be submitted that would not compromise the officer’s case.

  2. Nominations should be submitted no later than March 22nd of each year and provide multiple forms of contact information for both the nominating individual as well as complete contact information for the nominee.

  3. The nominee must be available to attend the NPRC in June of that year, near Detroit, Michigan. (All expenses will be provided for transportation)

  4. The Advisory Board and Executive Board of the National Patrol Rifle Competition & Conference will convene and vote on all nominations. The Chudwin Award recipient will be selected and notified by April 1st.




  1. Travel expenses for the awardee, one family member, and one member of their chain of command to attend NPRC to receive the award. This includes airfare or mileage expenses, shuttle to and from airport, if required.
  2. Hotel accommodations for the award winner, family member, and the chain of command member. Includes up to three dinners and two lunches.
  3. There is no cash or money given to the award winner. Instead, we offer training opportunities and equipment prizes from our sponsors.
  4. The winner receives an etched glass trophy and a framed certificate.
  5. An additional framed certificate for display in that officer’s police department, town hall, etc.
  6. Photographs from the awards ceremony.
  7. They will receive various logo and equipment gifts from the NPRC, Center Mass and may receive the same from the events sponsors. (This is most likely).
  8. They will receive a free slot for themselves and one fellow officer to attend any Center Mass class of their choice within the following calander year. 
  9. Scholarship to attend the following year's NPRC. 

33825 plymouth road, livonia MI 48150 |ph: (800) 794-1216|hours: M-F 10a to 8p / sat. & sun: 10a to 6p